Clarksburg has been settled in stages dating back as early as the 1850s when Merritt Island was first cleared and developed for agricultural uses. Postal authorities first established a post office in 1876, under the name "Clarksburgh" and changed the name to "Clarksburg" in 1893. The town was named after Robert C. Clark who settled at the place in 1849. In the 1920s the New Holland Land Company began subdividing the tracts in the area and formally established Clarksburg as an unincorporated community. Clarksburg is unique among small California towns in that many of the families who initially settled the area are still present, thus lending a small-town and almost East Coast charm to the community.
Architect William Raymond Yelland would spend summers in Clarksburg with family. W.R. Yelland designed several buildings in the town of Clarksburg including several homes, The Clarksburg Community Church and the Sugar Mill. W.R. Yelland is most noted for his Arts and crafts and Storybook Houses of the 1920s and 1930s.
The soils here are a combination of poorly-draining clay and rich loam, meaning vines experience nutrient-rich, but sometimes arid conditions. During the growing season the days are warm, though afternoon breezes from the San Francisco Bay make their way up the delta of the Sacramento River, dropping temperatures down 30 to 40°F from daytime highs. This mass of cool air allows the grapes to retain more acidity than most grapes grown in similarly warm growing regions.